Kvart I Fyra by Anders Åstrand

Home/Music/Kvart I Fyra by Anders Åstrand

Kvart I Fyra by Anders Åstrand

In Stock


for Percussion Ensemble


Digital Download


Kvart i Fyra was commissioned by James Campbell for the University of Kentucky Percussion Ensemble and premiered at their showcase concert at the 2004 Percussive Arts Society International Convention in Nashville, TN. -I feel honored to be almost one of the ‘house composers’ for the UK percussion ensemble. I got inspired from last time when I composed Finding Fossils for 17 percussion players and a solo flute (Miles Osland) also when UK played at PASIC. So this time around, the set up is for four choirs of instruments: steel pans, metal keyboards, wooden keyboards, and orchestra percussion. Jim asked if it could be written for 19-23 players so that the entire studio could be involved. I had the whole summer and I tried some ideas but only produced about 8 bars. Suddenly in August everything came together as I had additional ideas everywhere on small papers and in my head. I called my copyist/engraver (Daniel Saur) and it was time to get it together on paper. We had fun in my kitchen office, with a lot of strong Swedish coffee, and had the piece together at 3:45 in the morning. A”quarter to four” in Swedish is “Kvart i fyra”. (Anders Astrand)

The groups can be increased with additional players. If you have access to 3 or more 5-octave marimbas, feel free to first double Marimba III then Marimba II. The Steelpan group can be expanded as long as the “inner balance” is maintained.

Additional information


Digital Download


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Kvart I Fyra by Anders Åstrand”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to Top
Added to cart
Your Cart
Cart 0

Your cart is empty.

Return to Shop