Promise Music by Clif Walker

Home/Music/Promise Music by Clif Walker

Promise Music by Clif Walker

In Stock


for Percussion Ensemble




Originally conceived and written by Clif Walker as a marimba solo with small ensemble accompaniment, Promise Music was later revised (2007) and expanded to seven, then nine equal parts. It was performed in its final form at the 2007 Percussive Arts Society International Convention by the Florida State University percussion ensemble as a winner of the “call for tapes” competition under the direction of Dr. John W. Parks IV. The work attempts to convey the mood of a promise. A strong, simple melody withstanding an undercurrent of activity, changes, modulations. Intentionally, it was written without the use of any drums/membranophones, leaving all the challenges of energy, aggressiveness, and excitement exclusively to keyboards and various metals (cymbals, gongs, and triangle). The struck crotale on timpani effect is in memory of, and was introduced to the composer by, the late Michael Hooley of Northeast Missouri State University.

Additional information




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Promise Music by Clif Walker”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to Top
Added to cart
Your Cart
Cart 0

Your cart is empty.

Return to Shop