Three Dances from Terpsichore by Praetorius, arr. Jason Baker

Home/Music/Three Dances from Terpsichore by Praetorius, arr. Jason Baker

Three Dances from Terpsichore by Praetorius, arr. Jason Baker

In Stock


By Michael Praetorius Arranged for 4.3 Octave Marimba by Jason Baker


Digital Download



  1. Ballet
  2. Spagnoletta
  3. La Bouree


Terpsichore was published in 1612 as a collection of 312 dances in four, five, and six parts, arranged by German composer, organist, and music theorist Michael Praetorius (1571-1621). The melodies featured in the collection had previously existed in both the French dance repertoire and elsewhere in Europe. Arranged by Praetorius for unspecified instruments, these selections have since been performed in a wide variety of settings. This publication for solo marimba includes three beautiful dances adapted for performance by one player.


Many liberties have been taken in arranging these works for solo marimba. As Praetorius did not indicate any dynamics in his publication, all those included in this edition are at the discretion of the arranger and can be altered as the performer desires. Aspects of the form have been modified, voicings altered, and passing tones not included in the original have been added. Tempo interpretation can vary significantly, so marimbists are advised to experiment and listen to a wide variety of performances to inform their preparation.


Additional information


Digital Download


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Three Dances from Terpsichore by Praetorius, arr. Jason Baker”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to Top
Added to cart
Your Cart
Cart 0

Your cart is empty.

Return to Shop